Mani Monday – Mix It Up

If you’ve been reading this blog, you know that for the longest time, I have been wanting to try a dark blue nail polish with glitter. A color similar to Sea Escape by e.l.f. cosmetics…except I don’t want it to chip after 24 hours. So far, the only color I’ve seen that would be near what I want is Starry Starry Night by essie but the reviews for the polish have been less than stellar, and for that price…nope, not buying it.

So if you can’t buy it, why not make it?

It all started a couple of week ago while I was browsing at Target. Not only did I find the over-priced Starry Starry Night nail polish, but I also found a SinfulColors nail polish by the name of Teal Midnight. It’s a nice blue/green color with tiny glitters all around it. Best of all, it was only 50 cents! Ahh!!! I found it in the clearance section by the beauty department and the price was more than enough to give me a good reason to buy it.

Okay, so this is how I achieved this look. I did not use a base coat, so I just went ahead and started on the black layer of the nails. I’ve seen a lot of people say that Black on Black by SinfulColors is streaky and is a bad black, but my polish seems to work just fine. I only needed one coat before I started on my glitter.

As I always do, I always let my coats dry for 30 minutes but you can wait however long you feel like.

After I let the first coat of black nail polish dry, I did one coat of the Teal Midnight. P.S. I wanted to just do a Teal Midnight nail but it seemed like it would be too sheer and would have to do multiple coats, and I didn’t have time for that.

Again, I let my nails dry for about 30 minutes and finished it off with a top coat.

I would give this nail polish an A+! I love it, I love how it looks black/green/blue with the hint of glitter.

Tune in next Monday, to see how my Valentine’s Day nails turn out. I’ll be using a nail pen, so wish me luck lol

Leave a Reply

